Slipsliding away

Today was not a good day.  I have been steadily getting better day by day, but today was a backsliding day.  I had a series of bad dreams last night that left me emotionally drained.  Nothing about my bestie, but still enough bad piled up that I felt on the verge of tears for most of the morning.  I slept late, didn’t want to do anything, and had zero focus.  I couldn’t even be bothered playing the Sims, which is saying something because it is currently my favourite distraction.   My most favourite person living in Oregon sent me a game that has been at least somewhat entertaining, but even that was not holding my attention well today.

I went and looked at a potential flat to move into for next semester, but it was a dud.  The room was too small and the rent too high.  Overall it was a very nice house, but I need more space for all of my stuff, especially now that I am having a hard time parting with any of the things supplied to me by my bestie (the too small desk and drawers).  All is not lost however, another classmate is going to be looking at flats over the summer and seems to have similar goals in mind so hopefully we will be able to work something out.  I have a place to store my stuff (just need to get plastic to cover them with as its a garage), so I won’t have any problems with that.

I cooked today.  Cut up some asparagus (because it is spring here, early spring, cheap asparagus season) and mushrooms, covered them in oil and balsamic vinegar and then roasted them in the oven.  I also boiled up some pene pasta and improved a jar of sauce with mushrooms and fresh garlic.  Piled all of that together and that was my dinner.  The fresh garlic made the sauce amazing even though it had roasted garlic already in it.  I think I will have the leftover veges with rice tomorrow.

2 thoughts on “Slipsliding away

  1. Taboo says:

    You’re still pushin’ forward, NZ, and that ain’t nothin’. I was a bit concerned when you didn’t update for over a week.

    I don’t know what you’re support structure is like, but if you ever need to just vent to someone, or want to talk in depth, feel free to use the email address connected to my account.

    • nzvetstudent says:

      thanks…i’m going to try to post more regularly again…i’m out of the fog but not out of the woods if that makes sense…i’ve got a great Team Me out here and back in the states but i will definitely add you to the list of people to go to with things ^_^

Leave a Reply

