Turned out to be an interesting day today

Wednesdays are usually pretty cruizy days.  I have three lectures and then I’m done.  Today’s adventure started last night when my flatmate texted me to say that she wasn’t going to be driving to school for 8am class.  So I got to be ready to take the bus unexpectedly, but with enough time to be able to make it to school alright.

Lectures went by as usual and during the break I tried to get my phone to sync up to the internet at school better.  This of course failed, because I fail at technology, but I can still use my computer and might be able to tether the robit to the computer’s internet so that I can have texting home ability while at school.

After lectures was RADIC.  We were shown images of horse and cow limbs and then various dog parts because there was extra time at the end of the presentation.  She wasn’t very well put together, and clearly expected each thing to take longer than it did, but it was still fun and we got to talk about horse legs.  All in all not a waste of time.

Once that was over, I caught a bus into town and wandered around for an hour before going to the bank to inquire about a credit card.  They only just recently started doing debit/credit cards, and they are only available for residents, so I cannot get them.  However, I did make a productive trip out of it by correcting my address and phone number, and getting a replacement for my expired emergency credit card.  It only has a $500 limit, but that combined with my other funds should be able to see me through.  When that was all done and taken care of, I went backpack shopping.  There aren’t many places that sell good backpacks that I could find (though I’m not very good at that sort of thing).  The only one in the plaza that I liked was $180, which was way more than I was willing to pay.  I went into a camping store that was having a sale and found a 25 litre bag for about $50.  I got a “club card” type thing for an extra 10% off, and got a rain cover (in my choice of Dayglow Orange or Dayglow Orange) for $20 (also 10% off).  Now I have a backpack that should be able to hold all of my things.

With new backpack in hand, I made my way to Jesters for a savory pie (Kiwis are big on pies without fruit in them) and then Chocolato for some chocolate coffee.  My pie was spinach, mushroom, and feta (called a Popeye) and my coffee was a cappuccino with melted Belgian milk chocolate.  A very good lunch if I do say so myself.

I took the bus back to campus and hung out in the vet tower until an Equine Club meeting at 5pm.  The talk was about foaling and we first went over a normal foaling followed by various kinds of dystocias (difficult foalings).  It was very interesting and went for about an hour and 10 minutes (probably due to the technical difficulties in getting certain videos to play).  One of my classmates took me home and now I am wiped.

I didn’t manage to pick up a litter tray for the cat I am getting (adopting from a friend who is moving out of the country and can’t take the cat with) so I won’t be getting the cat until later.  I am getting a great deal on a boatload of good cat food though, so that’s cool.  That’s all for tonight kiddies, stay tuned tomorrow for another update.

4 thoughts on “Turned out to be an interesting day today

  1. kittona3a3a3 says:

    That sucks that you can’t get a kiwicard, but at least you can use your American cards while you’re there? and, yay new backpack!

  2. nzvetstudent says:

    i can use my US credit card (which is my debit card) and my kiwi eftpos card (which is like a debit card) and my kiwi credit card (though I don’t use it because its just for emergencies) ^_^

  3. Surreal says:

    Glad you’ve got a substitute soul mate for Dante while youre down under. This ones a stay at home (in NZ) kitty. Right?

  4. nzvetstudent says:

    I have no intention of bringing this cat to the states with me don’t worry

Leave a Reply

