Terribly Sorry About Yesterday

Yesterday wasn’t a terribly difficult day.  I got up at the usual time, even though I didn’t have class until 9:00 instead of the usual 8:00.  My reasoning was that I got a ride with my flatmates and had an hour before class to look over the lab for the day.

From 9:00 – 10:00 was biochem lecture, and then from 10:00 – 1:00 was physiology lab.  It was a histology lab so it was three hours of looking down microscopes at tiny structures that I could barely convince my eyes to focus on, and then drawing what I saw.  I am not an artist.  I am severely artistically challenged.  I also get really bored when drawing things, mostly because I’m not any good at it.  Which boils down to me being really grumpy in lab.

It was fun to see the different structures and to note them, but my eyes really don’t like focusing together down microscopes.  I had to resort to trickery in order to get my eyes to cooperate, and even then one would focus, then the other, then one would go black, then the other until I had to lift my head away and focus on the wall every few minutes just to keep from getting a headache.  I am undeterred though, I will just have to spend some extra time with the light microscopes so that I can build up the muscle in my eyes.  After that, world domination.

I actually managed to get out of lab an hour early and had lunch with my bestie before heading home.  He brought me bacon and egg pie, which is one of my favourite things we used to make together.  After lunch, I caught the bus home and picked up some cubed beef stock (because I was too lazy to go all the way to the real market and get the good stuff) and flour.  Once home, I started in on my soup.  I love cooking.  It is one of the things that I like to do to destress at the end of a long week.  Nothing matters when I’m dicing veges or cooking meat.  And the smells, so good.  I used some of the steak that I bought earlier in the week and made a beef soup.  I even remembered to dredge the meat before cooking it, I am so proud of me.  I added potatoes, a carrot, an onion, and mushrooms as my veges.  I usually add barley to make it really hearty, but I forgot that when I went to the market so had to forgo the deliciousness.  When the soup was done I offered it to my flatmates (one of which took me up on it) and enjoyed delicious home made soup.

Today marks the day that the third year students are halfway through their program.  So today they went on a trip to commemorate “Halfway Day”.  Last night, some of the fourth years kidnapped some of the third years and got them extremely drunk.  Wasted.  Hammered.  Smashed.  Just this side of alcohol poisoning.  The intention being that for halfway day the kidnapped people would have to do all of the activities either hung over or still intoxicated from the night before.  A major goal was to get them to vomit.  That is right along the same lines as hazing and I definitely do not approve.  I also am going to make damn sure that I am not kidnapped because no way in hell would I play along with that.

Anyway, my flatmates were both on the same page as I was, and so really did not want to get kidnapped.  They were both so paranoid that they turned off the main lights in their room and studied by small book lights.  One of them came to me and asked that if someone came to the door, that I answer it and tell whoever it was that she was out and that I didn’t know where she was.  The other one was less paranoid but still on edge.  The second one’s fiancee thought it would be HILARIOUS to sneak out the window and tap on the first one’s window, then bang on the door.  When he did this, the first one DASHED down the hallway and into the bathroom, shouting that she was not hear as she screamed past.  Not sure what was going on, I got up and went to answer the door.  Standing in the doorway of her room was the second flatmate, laughing so hard she couldn’t breathe.  Through the glass of the front door I could see a blonde silhouette  of about the same dimensions as the fiancee.  Still playing along, I opened the door, called him a dick, closed the door and undid the chain so that I could let him back in, and then proceeded to laugh my ass off.  First flatmate came crawling out of her hiding place and was pissed but laughing.  Later in the evening, after all of the kidnapping was over, one of First flatmate’s friends came around and banged loudly on the door.  Second flatmate and I were in the kitchen, me doing dishes, her talking on the phone.  When I turned around to look, after hearing the noise, there was practically a flatmate shaped dust cloud from where she took off sprinting into the bathroom to hide.  First flatmate thought it was hilarious and getting Second flatmate back for the earlier joke.

Last night was also the first year/second year party, where the second years get the first years extremely drunk (you may be noticing a theme here).  As you may have guessed, I did not attend.  The people who did attend told stories about bruises and mud and missing memories.  Most of the people who went (and got drunk) didn’t make it to first lecture at 8:00 this morning.  Some of them barely made it to the labs later in the day.  It was only a couple blocks from my flat, and I could hear them talking, shouting, singing, and the music they were dancing to well into the evening.  I regret nothing.

Today I had first lecture, then second lecture, then a long break until the best part of the day: Animal Handling Practical.  This week my group (of about 10) got to do the dog handling prac.  Which meant playing with dogs for three hours.  We learned and practiced several methods of restraint, a trick for giving oral medication in the form of a pill, and how to dispense liquid oral medication.  There were four dogs that were putting up with us, two had done practicals before, the other two were young and inexperienced but game.  The old hand was Silly Lilly the rough collie/border collie cross.  She is six years old and has been doing animal handling practicals for a few of them.  Apparently she was rescued from a puppy mill where she had four litters in two years.  She is almost a dog again (according to her owner who was teaching the practical), and was a very good sport.  The teacher’s other dog was Willow, a golden retriever/border collie cross who is about 18 months old and VERY hyper and silly.  The other two dogs were well known by the teacher and her dogs.  Ivy is a French Mastiff who is an only child and very much a princess.  Shumba (or something like that) is a Rhodesian Ridgeback about the same age as Willow (yes, you are correct, her and Willow DID attempt to spend the entire time playing together).  They were all very well behaved (for the most part) and there was no near misses with any altercations or aggression.  Ivy did decide near the end that she was done playing that game and she went and laid down under a table, but she didn’t growl or give the stink eye to anyone at any point.

After lab I caught the bus home and got to Skype with my loved ones back home.  It was really nice and made me smile like crazy to get to see two at once (since they were hanging out together).  Being able to see (even if the picture quality is terrible) and hear my friends and family makes the homesickness less.

Another thing that I should probably mention is that there is a new (temporary) flatmate living in the spare bedroom.  He is a German fifth year student doing some practical work (and sightseeing) out here in New Zealand.  He is very nice and polite and his English is quite good.  Because he is staying in the cat’s room though, the cat is hanging out with me.  So I have a furry friend keeping me company tonight.  He is currently curled up on my bed, right where I might want to put my feet later when I go to sleep.  Ah cats, how I love them.

2 thoughts on “Terribly Sorry About Yesterday

  1. kittona3a3a3 says:

    I’d love to play with animals as part of school work – how awesome is that? I really don’t get why there’s so much of an emphasis on Getting Other People Drunk – so not cool.

    • nzvetstudent says:

      yeah that pretty much made my week…and this friday…SHEEP! i’m very excited

      I also don’t understand the emphasis on drinking/getting other people drunk…and probably never will…it’s one thing to drink a little and have fun with it…its entirely different to drink with the intention of getting yourself or someone else shitfaced…and i honestly don’t think that i WANT to understand it…because i like my brain…and don’t want it to break

Leave a Reply

